Healthcare Administrative Professionals Bargaining Unit Bargaining Update

The NSGEU Healthcare Administrative Professional Bargaining Committee met on June 21 and 22, 2018 to prepare for bargaining with the NSHA and the IWK. The Committee is comprised of seven representatives from Locals 1246, 423, 189, 190, 191, 104, 193 and 195, who work at the NSHA in the Central and Western Zones, the IWK, and Public Health, Addiction Services, and Continuing Care in the NSHA Western, Northern and Eastern Zones

The Bargaining Committee reviewed the progress made at the Healthcare bargaining table thus far, and discussed proposals to enhance the working conditions of Administrative Professionals working in acute care at both the NSHA and the IWK. A short bargaining input survey has been devised to obtain updated information from members on key bargaining issues.

The Constitution for the Administrative Professionals Council prescribes that the Bargaining Committee for Administrative Professionals is comprised of seven NSGEU representatives and three CUPE representatives. CUPE is the lead negotiating Union at the bargaining table. On June 29, the NSGEU Bargaining Committee will meet with the CUPE representatives, including lead negotiator Carl Crouse. The purpose of this meeting is to develop common proposals to take to the bargaining table.

As a result of the historic Memorandum of Agreement ratified by all four Healthcare Unions on May 18, 2018, Healthcare Administrative Professionals will have a six year collective agreement, with wage increases in four of the six years, plus an option for early payout of the Retirement Allowance. The Memorandum of Agreement also provides for mediated arbitration of all outstanding issues.

The Council of Administrative Professional Unions is seeking bargaining dates with the NSHA and the IWK for the end of August and beginning of September. September 19 is the date for mediation-arbitration with Arbitrator William Kaplan.

We promise to keep you updated on any developments, including bargaining dates. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact a member of the Bargaining Committee as follows:

Local 193 Sheri Cunningham –

Local 1246 Debra Hartnett –

Local 190 Lynette Hayward-Byrd –

Local 423 Tanya Hersey –

Local 1246 Heather Marlene Tucker –

Local 1246 Tammy Young –

Local 1246 Bill Zebedee –

Chief Negotiator, Robin MacLean –

Related Articles

Start typing and press Enter to search