NSGEU Provincial Executive Committee

The Provincial Executive Committee is made up of five members elected by voting delegates during Triennial Convention. Positions are: President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Third Vice President, and Secretary/Treasurer.

Under the direction and guidance of the Board of Directors, the Provincial Executive Committee oversees the union’s day-to-day operations, following the strategies and priorities decided upon by the delegates at Triennial Convention.

Any voting delegate to Triennial Convention is entitled to seek nomination for any of the Provincial Executive Committee positions.

The Provincial Executive Committee:

  • Sandra Mullen (she/her/elle)
    Sandra Mullen (she/her/elle) President

    Sandra works as a licensing officer with the Department of Community Services and is a member of Local 16 where she has served as both as Local President for numerous terms and Vice President. She has served as 3rd, 2nd and 1st Vice-President during the past years and was a representative of the PR members of the Civil Service on the Board of Directors.

    She has a passion for women’s issues and women’s rights and has served as Executive Liaison to the NSGEU Women’s Issues Committee for several terms. She also serves on the National Union of Public and General Employees (NUPGE) and the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC) Women’s Advisory Councils. Sandra is deeply rooted in community service and has served on many organizations and Boards including Kiwanis, Lions, Clare Minor Hockey and Girl Guides.

    She brings this community connection to the NSGEU and under her leadership the union has partnered with the United Way on successful initiatives including Tampon Tuesday, Feed NS, and Cancer NS to make a difference in people’s lives and those who are struggling with poverty and food insecurity.

    Sandra enjoys spending time with the members and hearing about workplace issues at local meetings or meetings of NSGEU Councils and Committees. She believes in the power of the union and attends conferences and other conventions of our National Union (NUPGE) where she is on the Executive Board to advocate on behalf of the membership and strategize about how to build a better, more just society together.



  • Hugh Gillis (Pronouns He/Him)
    Hugh Gillis (Pronouns He/Him) 1st Vice President

    Hugh is a member of Local 480, a Youth &  Adult Correctional Worker in Sydney. Hugh grew up in East Bay, Cape Breton, and has been active on the Civil Service Bargaining Committee (both BUNC and UNC) along with his local executive. Hugh has served three terms on the Board of Directors including chair of the Health & Safety and Political Action Committees and has been Secretary-Treasurer of the N.S. Federation of Labour since 2017. Hugh has an undergraduate degree from Cape Breton University and a Diploma in Educational Support from Nova Scotia Community College.

    Hugh is a supporter of Landmark East School in the Annapolis Valley and Pride Cape Breton.

  • Tammy Gillis
    Tammy Gillis 2nd Vice President

    Tammy is a member of Local 2 who works in the Pictou Justice Centre as a Deputy Prothonotary and has been a proud NSGEU member since 2008.  Tammy has over 10 years of activism and has served the NSGEU locally, regionally and provincially.  She has been on her local executive, served on BUNC and has been a member of the Pictou/Antigonish/Guysborough Regional Council and served two terms on the Board of Directors.

  • Peter Perry
    Peter Perry 3rd Vice-President

    Peter Perry, an Anesthesia Assistant from Local 122, was elected as 3rd Vice-President at our 2022 Convention.

  • Darren McPhee
    Darren McPhee Secretary-Treasurer

    Darren is a Social Worker with the Department of Community Services (Local 8). Darren had been previously elected to the Board of Directors and held many positions in his Region and Local before being first elected as Secretary-Treasurer in 2003. He was acclaimed this past Convention to begin his 9th consecutive term as NSGEU’s Chief Financial Officer. Darren has completed many roles while in this position, including Project Manager for purchasing the land and constructing the new NSGEU building, as well as several terms leading the Executive and Board of Directors in Strategic Planning.

Start typing and press Enter to search