2022 Sock It To Poverty Campaign!

It’s “Sock It To Poverty” time!

Every year, the NSGEU Human Rights Committee organizes a campaign called “Sock It To Poverty”. This involves the collection and/or purchase of NEW winter items like socks, gloves, mitts, and scarves to be distributed to those in need across the province. Items collected or funds raised are distributed within the region in which they came.

From now until January 13, 2023, we are asking you, if you are able, to do one or the other or both of the following:

  1. Attend your next Local meeting and make a motion/request that your local consider a financial donation to the campaign.
  2. Set up a donation site at your workplace to collect any NEW socks, mittens, and hats.

If you are making a financial donation through your Local, we ask that your local make it payable to NSGEU and in the memo section please put – “Sock-It-To-Poverty.” We use the money to do a bulk purchase of high quality socks from a local manufacturer (Stanfields) and will distribute them to people in need in your region in the New Year.

If you are setting up a donation site, you can download a poster for your donation site here. You can post the poster on bulletin boards or decorate the donation box with these posters. You can download a tally sheet for what you collect here. Once you have collected your donations, please contact your Local President (if you don’t know who this is, please call the NSGEU) or your Regional Chair listed below.

The deadline for donations is January 13, with the goal that our Regional Councils will be able to distribute items asap after that.

You can also drop items off at all NSGEU buildings (in Dartmouth, Yarmouth, Truro and Cape Breton). Our head office has regular office hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday. However, you must make arrangements with the local regional chairpersons to use the other offices as the hours are not consistent.

We would like to profile the campaign so if you take any photos of your Sock It To Poverty Donation Site,  please forward them to the NSGEU Communications Officer at dslye@nsgeu.ca.

If you have any questions please contact Sherry Dennis at hcommittee@nsgeu.ca  (Human Rights Committee Chair).

Thank you for your time and your energy on this important community campaign.

In solidarity,

NSGEU Human Rights Committee

Regional Chairs

Valley – John Bueglas, jbueglas@eastlink.ca

Metro A – Steven Thompson, stevethompsonrsw@gmail.com

Metro B – Lucyanne Gerrard, lucyannegerrard@hotmail.com

Metro C – Ray Bundy, rbundy25@gmail.com

South Shore – Dwayne Foster, dwayne_114@hotmail.com

Pictou/Antigonish/Guysborough – George Hemlow, ghemlow@gmail.com

Cape Breton – Neil Poirer, jnp16@hotmail.com

Cumberland/Colchester – Michele Davidson, michelejdavidson@gmail.com

Related Articles

Start typing and press Enter to search