Glossary of Terms


A means to change, alter, improve, or correct the Constitution or By-Laws of NSGEU. Must be submitted in resolution format.

Board of Directors

The Board is the governing body of the Union between conventions. It is made up of 34 members: 5 members of the Executive Committee; 8 regional councilors; and 21 Occupational Councilors. The Board of Directors has exclusive jurisdiction over the affairs of the Union between conventions.


Shows agreement by the committee with the resolution/amendment and gives a recommendation that the resolution/amendment should be adopted.

Constitution Committee

A Provincial Committee structured to review and give recommendations with respect to the future direction, goals and structure of the NSGEU and coordinate Resolutions on the Constitution and By-Laws.


Every two years in odd numbered years the NSGEU holds a Convention in which all Locals are entitled to send delegates. Every Local can send at least two delegates and maybe entitled to send more delegates, based on the formula outlined in the Constitution. The Convention is the supreme governing body of the union. Resolutions adopted at Convention set direction for the upcoming term. At Convention, the Executive Members of the Union are also elected.

Convention Delegate

Each Local elects delegates to Convention. The Local must first elect people who have attended 40% or more of their Local meetings in the previous year. If they cannot fill the spots with people who meet that requirement, others may be elected as delegates. Those delegates debate and vote and elect at Convention. It is possible for all delegates to speak to all resolutions and to vote in all elections.

Executive Committee of a Local

Made up of President, one or more Vice-presidents, Treasurer, Secretary (or Secretary-Treasurer), and Chief Steward. Elected by local members, responsible for coordinating all local activity.


The NSGEU is divided into Locals that range in size from 8 members to 3500. Locals (with only 1 or two exceptions), are comprised of members of the union that work for the same employer, most often, though not always in a geographical area.


A proposal or suggestion formally made in an assembly or meeting.


A recommendation by the committee that the resolution/amendment should not be adopted.

Occupational Council

The NSGEU consists of 14 Occupational Councils which are built along sector lines. Occupational council reps are elected by each local with members in that sector. Council reps meet at least twice a year to discuss issues facing members within the sector. Each Occupational Council elects a member to the NSGEU Board of Directors.

Regional Council

The NSGEU is divided into 8 regions. Each region is represented by a Regional Council whose members are elected by the locals within each region. Regional Councils meet at least 6 times each year. Each region elects a member to the NSGEU Board of Directors.


A formal statement of opinion or determination adopted by an assembly or other formal group. There is only one accepted format for organizing and submitting a resolution.

Resolutions Committee

A Provincial Committee that receives all non-constitutional Resolutions for preparation and presentation at the Biennial Convention. The Committee makes recommendations of concurrence or non-concurrence for all General Convention Resolutions.


A system of instruction containing exercises, information, etc. for individual study.

Union Executive

The Executive Committee of the Union consists of the President, 1st, 2nd and 3rd Vice-presidents, and the Secretary-Treasurer. Just as the Convention is the supreme governing body of the union, and the Board of Directors is the decision making (governing) body between Conventions, the Executive Committee is charged with the responsibility of dealing with the affairs of the Union between the Board meetings.


Go Back

Start typing and press Enter to search